Review: Big Fat Disaster by Beth Fehlbaum

Big Fat Disaster coverColby has never been like her mother, a former Miss Texas, or her  sisters, Rachel and Drew. She takes after her dad, the former college football player turned investment banker and political candidate. But when Colby discovers a picture of her father kissing another woman on the same day that the FBI investigates her father for stealing from his campaign and his clients, her world comes crashing down.

Now Colby, Drew, and their mother are stuck living in a tiny trailer in a tiny town in East Texas. With the stresses of adjusting to a new life, Colby’s eating gets even more out of control. And when a perfect storm of school bullies and family cruelty strikes, Colby decides that maybe this life isn’t worth it, after all.

Big Fat Disaster is a powerful book. It was very difficult for me to read at times because of my own history with disordered eating habits, and as a mother, Colby’s relationship with her mom broke my heart. This book is emotionally gripping and almost impossible to put down. .

Big Fat Disaster will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, John Green, and Maureen Johnson. It would be great as a book club selection; there’s so much in this book to discuss and build on.

Highly recommended for grades 9 and up – swearing, bullying, verbal abuse, suicidal thoughts, and suicide attempts.

FTC Required Disclaimer: I received the digital ARC of this book from the publisher. I did not receive monetary compensation for this review.

This review has been posted in compliance with the FTC requirements set forth in the Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising (available at ftc.gov/os/2009/10/091005revisedendorsementguides.pdf)

 

 

Advertisements
Categories: Reviews | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: